Jackson Named to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. Named after the first player, male or female, named to the All-America Team in four straight college seasons, the annual award, in its inaugural year, recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

LSU junior Chloe Jackson has been named to the preseason watch list for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. The native of Upper Marlboro, Maryland, was one of three Lady Tigers to start all 32 games last season and was second on the team in scoring with 13.1 points per game. She scored double figures in 23 games and logged six games of 20 or more points during the 2016-17 season.

“Ann Meyers dominated the basketball court as a standout for UCLA, surpassing records held by both men and women at the basketball powerhouse university,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Recognized as the only woman to sign a contract with an NBA team, Ann has been a shining example of character and skill and we are so pleased to announce this award bearing her name.”

The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at www.hoophallawards.com.

The winner of the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be announced at an inaugural awards ceremony hosted by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, and ESPN at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio. ESPN broadcast information will be released at a later date.

“It is an honor to be associated with this award identifying the best in the collegiate game today,” said Ann Meyers Drysdale, a 1993 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “The shooting guards on this list have worked tirelessly to earn a spot on this esteemed watch list and it’s nice to see the Basketball Hall of Fame recognize them for their efforts.”

For more information on the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, visit www.hoophallawards.com.

(Press Release provided by LSU Athletics)

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

  • WVLA Local 33 News

  • WGMB Fox 44

  • WVLA Local 33 News

  • WGMB Fox44 Baton Rouge

  • BR Proud Mobile App