Seven parishes affected by Ida added to major disaster declaration

Louisiana News

BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) – Seven parishes have been added to the major disaster declaration, according to an announcement from Congressman Garret Graves.

Parishes now eligible include Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist and Terrebonne.

Graves’ announced funding will be used for roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and contents, public utilities, and parks, recreational and other facilities.

“We have a lot more to do to help thousands of hurricane victims across Louisiana but this is a good step forward toward rebuilding. We are going to continue working with FEMA and emergency responders to help address the impacts from Hurricane Ida for every citizen in our state,” Graves said.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories