13 local activists receive Acie J. Belton Lifetime Achievement Award


BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) — Thirteen local activists who were founding members or are current members of the North Baton Rouge NOW Blue-Ribbon Commission will receive the Acie J. Belton Life Achievement Award.

The award is named after civil rights icon and Scotlandville native Acie J. Belton, who founded the Baton Rouge Second Ward Voter’s League and served as a member of the Metro Council.

The following people received the award:

  • Sateria Tate-Alexander
  • Bradley Brown
  • Dezmion Barrow
  • Gary Chambers Jr.
  • Eugene Collins
  • Cleve Dunn, Jr.
  • Jamar Ennis
  • Dr. Tiffany Franklin
  • Dr. Leslie T. Grover
  • Dr. Reva Hines
  • Burnell Williams
  • Dr. Lue Russell
  • Myra Richardson
  • Dr. Joyce Plummer
  • Dr. Cheria Lane


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories