2 Louisiana parishes named ag disasters; 11 more covered


MGN – Image License
Photo: Pxhere

The federal government has declared agricultural disasters in two Louisiana parishes because of floods during the past year.

A news release emailed Wednesday says farmers in another 11 adjacent parishes can also apply for low-interest emergency loans.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue says flooding between Sept. 1, 2018 and July 17 made Catahoula Parish a primary disaster area.

Farmers and ranchers in Avoyelles, Caldwell, Concordia, Franklin, LaSalle, and Tensas can also apply for Farm Service Agency loans to recover from those floods.

Vermilion Parish received the designation for rain and floods from June 5-15. Adjacent parishes under that declaration are Acadia, Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, and Lafayette.

FSA emergency loans can be used to replace essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganize a farming operation or refinancing some debts.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories