East Baton Rouge seniors receive National Merit Scholarship recognition


Photo courtesy of the EBR Schools Facebook page.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation honored 29 East Baton Rouge School System seniors as 2020 Merit Scholars in the Semifinalist, Commended, or Hispanic Scholar categories.

The NMSC, a nonprofit organization founded in 1955, aims to identify and honor academically talented U.S. high school students, to stimulate increased support for their education and to provide efficient and effective program management for organizations that wish to sponsor college undergraduate scholarships.

The honors students received from the NMSC are viewed as definitive marks of academic excellence.

National Merit Semifinalist Scholars from East Baton Rouge are:
Vishal Easwar
Bingmia Guan
Steven Guo
Madelyn Keller
Miles Lee
Ali Marzoughi
Winnie Ng
Ranna Okeil
Khanh Pham
Krishna Pochana
Alison Qi
Grace Qian
Amanda Richter
Amy Ruckman
Marcus Schafer
Joshua Serio
Ryan Thomas
Natasha Thorpe
Evonne Yang
Cindy Zheng
Kevin Zhou

National Merit Commended Scholars are:
Meghan Crump
Abby Debenport
Rachel Dupuy
Peter Franz
Yena Jang
Arden Kleinpeter
Milan Monroe
Ray Sierra
James Zhu

Students Miles Lee and Ray Sierra also received dual distinctions as National Hispanic Scholars.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.