Joe Burrow wins both Davey O’Brien and Walter Camp Awards


FILE – In this Nov. 30, 2019, file photo, LSU quarterback Joe Burrow (9) gestures thanks to the student section after playing his last game in Tiger Stadium, an NCAA college football game against Texas A&M, in Baton Rouge, La. LSU quarterback Joe Burrow is The Associated Press college football player of the year in a landslide vote. Burrow, who has led the top-ranked Tigers to an unbeaten season and their first College Football Playoff appearance, received 50 of 53 first-place votes from AP Top 25 poll voters and a total of 156 points. (AP Photo/Gerald Herbert, File)

LSU senior quarterback Joe Burrow claimed both the Davey O’Brien and Walter Camp Awards Thursday night ahead of his likely Heisman Trophy Award coronation on Saturday.

Burrow threw for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns this fall to lead LSU (13-0) to a perfect regular season and the program’s first SEC Championship since 2011.

LSU will next play in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on December 28th against Oklahoma (12-1).

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories