ASCENSION PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — Ascension Public Schools named their 2023-24 “Students of the Year” for elementary, middle and high school on Wednesday, Nov. 15.

Ascension Public Schools put together a video showing Ascension Parish Public Schools Superintendent Edith Walker announcing the student of the year for each grade level.

The list includes all district- and grade-level winners in fifth, eighth and 12th grades.

The district-level winners were:

  • Sugar Mill Primary’s Amina Britton.
  • Bluff Middle’s Natasha Goldthrop.
  • Dutchtown High’s Landri Domingue.

“Congratulations to these outstanding young men and women on being selected as their school’s Students of the Year. This is a highly competitive process that showcases both academic rigor and a commitment to service outside of the classroom,” said Walker. “In Ascension, we want to equip our students to achieve the careers of their dreams, and that takes becoming a determined learner, a resourceful innovator, an effective communicator, an active scholar, and a mindful citizen – all qualities found in these honorees.”

Who are the Ascension Parish Students of the Year?

Fifth-grade Students of the Year

  • Avery Bradley Stoddard, Bluff Ridge Primary School
  • Kara Moak, Bullion Primary School
  • Molly Landaiche, Central Primary School
  • Olivia Danielle Messina, Duplessis Primary School
  • James Craft, Dutchtown Primary School
  • Caydence Baker, G.W. Carver Primary School
  • Simone Nelson, Galvez Primary School
  • Gatlin Vizinat, Gonzales Primary School
  • Caden Laiche, Lake Elementary School
  • Quinn Broussard, Lakeside Primary School
  • Carday Hayes, Lowery Elementary School
  • Eli Gordon Franks, Oak Grove Primary School
  • Cayden McKenzie Bennett, Pecan Grove Primary School
  • Brianna Westerhaus, Prairieville Primary School
  • Alexa Rae Triggs, Sorrento Primary School
  • Kate Adelle Robert, Spanish Lake Primary School
  • Audrey Gautreau, St. Amant Primary School
  • Amina Michelle Britton, Sugar Mill Primary (District winner)

Eighth-grade Students of the Year

  • Natasha Goldthorp, Bluff Middle School (District winner)
  • Sarah Bertucci, Central Middle School
  • Olivia Landry, Dutchtown Middle School
  • Cara Goodly, Galvez Middle School
  • A’kea Kelly, Gonzales Middle School
  • Terrell Carter, Lake Elementary School
  • Rione Harvey, Lowery Middle School
  • Reese Geraci, Prairieville Middle School
  • Payton Elise Cheatwood, St. Amant Middle School

12th-grade Students of the Year

  • Jaylen Carter, Donaldsonville High School
  • Landri Domingue, Dutchtown High School (District winner)
  • Tanner Stanga, East Ascension High School
  • Maras Rieleigh Bordes, St. Amant High School

What happens next for the district winners? They “will be entered into a zone level competition, and from there, if chosen in early January, they will move on to the regional competition,” according to Ascension Parish Schools.

Recent stories