ASSUMPTION PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — What’s on the ballot in Assumption Parish? For the upcoming election, Assumption Parish residents can vote on who will be their next sheriff and police jurors.

Election day for the Louisiana primary is Oct. 14. Across Louisiana, voters will cast ballots for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer.

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person is set to take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • Clerk of Court: Erin Hebert, No Party
  • Assessor: Wayne “Cat” Blanchard, Democrat
  • Coroner: Keith Landry, Independent
  • Police Juror Ward 2: Jeff “Big Daddy” Naquin, Democrat
  • Police Juror Ward 3: Ira Patureau Jr., Republican
  • Police Juror Ward 9: Myron J. Matherne, Democrat

While the primary will determine some races, the general election will be Nov. 18. Learn where you can cast early ballots here.

Meet the candidates for Assumption Parish


  • Leland J. Falcon, Democrat
  • Oneal Mills Sr., Democrat

Police Juror, Ward 1

  • Ron Alcorn, Democrat
  • April Davis, Democrat
  • Josh Himel, Republican
  • Raynell Lewis-Ogiugo, Independent

Police Juror, Ward 4

  • Charles Breaux, Democrat
  • Patrick Johnson, Democrat

Police Juror, Ward 5

  • Michael “Mikie” Dias, Democrat
  • “Kenny” Miracle Jr., Republican

Police Juror, Ward 6

  • “Chris” Carter, Democrat
  • Brian A. Ponville, Democrat

Police Juror, Ward 7

  • Leroy J. Blanchard III, Democrat
  • “Tim” Daigle, Independent

Police Juror, Ward 8

  • Booster Breaux, Democrat
  • Jamie P. Ponville, No Party