Capital Area United Way to honor community members in annual Celebrate the Power of Women awards

Local News

BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) – The Capital Area United Way Women United plan to honor local women in its annual Celebrate the Power of Women celebration.

The celebration takes place on Thursday, August 19 at L’Auberge Hotel and Casino from 7:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. The event features guest speaker former LSU Gymnastics Head Coach D-D Breaux.

Awards to be presented include:

Excellence in Social & Community Investment

This award honors an individual in business (profit or non-profit) who strives to positively impact the community, exemplifies a spirit of passion and groundbreaking achievement that leads the way for others through their integrity, compassion, credibility, humility, and empowerment of others. This year’s recipient is Allison B. Hudson, Public Information Officer/Crime Victims Investigator, Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Legacy of Service

This award honors a leader who has had a positive influence on the community and will “leave a legacy” on our 10-parish service area. This individual exemplifies service above self through civic and/or community engagement. This year’s recipient is Gloria Moncada, Vice President of Americas Fuels, ExxonMobil.


This award honors the power of an individual 40 years of age and under that is striving to make a positive and lasting impact in our community. This young ambassador is an up-and-coming difference-maker who is just beginning a lifelong commitment to service. This year’s recipient is Jessica Trepagnier, Director of Community Development and Marketing, Aetna.

Woman of Inspiration

This award honors an individual who not only tirelessly fills a vital role of service in our community but demonstrates passion in giving back and advocates for others to join the crusade. This year’s recipient is Carol M. Patin, M.D., General Obstetrics & Gynecology Doctor and Chief Medical Officer, Southeast Community Health Systems.

Since last year’s event was canceled due to COVID-19, the 2020 Power of Women recipients will also be honored this year.

See 2020’s recipients here.

For more information about this celebration, visit

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories