EAST FELICIANA PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) – East Feliciana Parish residents chose to keep “Jeff” Travis as sheriff in the primary election.

Across Louisiana, voters cast their ballots for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer.

“Jeff” Travis will remain in the sheriff’s seat with 63% of the vote in complete but unofficial results on the Louisiana Secretary of State website.

“Chrissie” O’Quin, Dexter Armstead, Jason McCray, Lyman Fleniken, and Louis Kent were elected as police jurors.

Residents voted “Yes” on the proposal for a 1% retail tax towards the Town of Slaughter.

Races going to runoffs

The District 5 Police Juror seat will head to a runoff between Joshua O’Quin, No Party, who has 41% of the votes, and Michael Cheatham, Democrat, who has 36% of the votes.

The general election will be on Nov. 18. Early voting is set for 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Nov. 3-11 (excluding Sunday, Nov. 5, and Friday, Nov. 10 in honor of Veteran’s Day). Learn where you can cast early ballots here.

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person is set to take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races within the parish:

  • Clerk of Court: David Dart, No Party.
  • Assessor: “Jeff” Gardner, No Party.
  • Coroner: E. Gene Thompson, No Party.
  • Police Juror, District 1B: Kristin Chasteen, Republican.
  • Police Juror, District 4A: Keith Mills, Democrat.
  • Police Juror, District 4B: Richard W. Oliveaux, Democrat.

Who was on the ballot for East Feliciana Parish?

The following are complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website as of 9:30 p.m. on Oct. 14.

Winners are in bold.

Candidates going to a runoff are in italics.


  • Jason Matthews, Democrat: 2,001, 31%
  • Kenneth Stewart, Democrat: 349, 5%
  • “Jeff” Travis, Democrat: 4,007, 63%

Police Juror, District 1A

  • “Ike McKnight, No Party: 265, 36%
  • “Chrissie” O’Quin, Independent: 477, 64%

Police Juror, District 2

  • Dexter Armstead, Democrat: 380, 56%
  • Ronald Johnson, Democrat: 295, 44%

Police Juror, District 3

  • Christopher Ferguson, Democrat: 261, 37%
  • Jason H. McCray, Democrat: 441, 63%

Police Juror, District 5

  • Michael Ray Bradford, Democrat: 192, 23%
  • Michael Cheatham, Democrat: 293, 36%
  • Joshua O’Quin, No Party: 336, 41%

Police Juror, District 6

  • Lyman Kyle Fleniken, Republican: 364, 55%
  • Edward Gilkison, Republican: 298, 45%

Police Juror, District 7

  • Louis Kent, Democrat: 489, 58%
  • “Chris” Rouchon, Republican: 350, 42%


Town of Slaughter

Shall the town collect a 1% retail tax for 30 years, starting Jan. 1, 2024? About $125,000 per year is expected to be collected each year. Funds will be used for roads, bridges and road drainage construction and maintenance.

  • Yes: 233, 68%
  • No: 108, 32%