NSU announces semi-finalists in presidential search

Local News

Northwestern State University (Photo courtesy: Billy Hathorn, CC by SA 3.0)

BATON ROUGE, La (BRPROUD) – Northwestern State University (NSU) in Natchitoches, La announced the semi-finalists in the national search to fill the position of president of the university.

Interim President Marcus Jones took over in June. Jim Henderson, president of The University of Louisiana Systems (UL System), is the chair for the Northwestern State University Presidential Search Committee.

The semi-finalists for the position are:

  • Nancy D. Albers, College of Business International Experience Coordinator, Louisiana State University Shreveport
  • Marcus D. Jones, Interim President, Northwestern State University 
  • Darrell P. Kruger, Former Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Appalachian State University 
  • Kim M. LeDuff, Vice President, Division of Academic Engagement and Student Affairs and Chief Diversity Officer, University of West Florida, Pensacola
  • Jeremy L. Thomas, Interim President, Oklahoma City Community College
  • Virginia R. Van Sickle-Burkett, Chief Scientist, U.S. Department of Interior

Jones took over as interim president in June.  

Henderson is a non-voting member. Voting members include NSU Faculty Senate President John Dunn and UL System Board Members Elizabeth Pierre, Jimmy Clarke, Barry Busada, Lola Dunahoe, Alejandro Perkins, Joe Salter, and Student Board Member L’Oreal Williams.

Non-voting members are NSU Alumni Association Nikki Caeser-Small, NSU Student Government Association President Tja’h Edwards, NSU Alumni Association President Patricia Hrapmann, NSU Foundation Member Mike Knotts, and retired Dean of the School of Creative and Performing Arts Bill Brent and NSU Foundation President John Manno, Jr.

“The search committee has fulfilled the first part of its mission by selecting a group of semifinalists with specific qualifications to lead Northwestern State University,” Henderson said. “Each of our nine-member institutions is unique and I am confident that the best person to lead Northwestern State, my alma mater, is among these candidates.”

The next president will be selected by the full Board of Supervisors for the UL System at a special meeting on Monday, Nov. 8.

The UL System is located in Baton Rouge and is one of the nation’s largest higher education systems made up of nine distinct educational institutions. Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, the University of Louisiana at Monroe, and the University of New Orleans make up the UL System.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories