Louisiana State University Boyd Professor of Physics, Dr. Ward Plummer was a recipient of the 2018 Faculty Achievement Award.

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) chose Professor Plummer along with 13 other SEC faculty members to receive the annual award.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey announced the fourteen recipients on Wednesday after choosing one from each member university who excelled in teaching and research. 

“The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards continue to provide us with a unique opportunity to celebrate faculty from our conference who have demonstrated a commitment to our students while also making meaningful contributions in their fields,” said Sankey. “Although we have chosen to honor 14, we know they are truly representative of all SEC faculty members.”

As a winner of the 2018 Faculty Achievement Award, Plummer will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and become LSU’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. 

According to Dr. Torie A. Johnson of the SEC, “the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are both selected by the SEC Provosts, and they are two foundational programs designed by the SEC to support and promote the academic endeavors and achievements of its students, faculty and administrators.  

The SEC provided a list of the award recipients, including Professor Plummer:  

  • University of Alabama, Dr. Trudier Harris, University Distinguished Research Professor of English
  • University of Arkansas, Dr. Peter Ungar, Distinguished Professor of Anthropology
  • Auburn University, Dr. David Ketchen, Harbert Eminent Scholar and Professor of Management
  • University of Florida, Dr. Scott Powers, UAA Endowed Professor and Distinguished Professor
  • University of Georgia, Dr. Mary Ann Moran, Distinguished Research Professor
  • University of Kentucky, Dr. Issam Harik, Raymond-Blythe Professor of Civil Engineering
  • Louisiana State University, Dr. Ward Plummer, Boyd Professor of Physics
  • University of Mississippi, Dr. Jane Reckelhoff, Billy S. Guyton Distinguished Professor
  • Mississippi State University, Dr. James Fowler, Billie J. Ball Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • University of Missouri, Dr. Inder Khurana, Geraldine Trulaske Chair in Accountancy
  • University of South Carolina, Dr. Julius Fridriksson, Carolina Distinguished Professor
  • University of Tennessee, Dr. Louis Gross, Alvin and Sally Beaman Distinguished Professor
  • Texas A&M University, Dr. Marcetta Darensbourg, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
  • Vanderbilt University, Dr. Kathleen Gould, Louise B. McGavock Endowed Professor