ASCENSION PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) – What’s on the ballot for Ascension Parish? Ascension Parish residents can vote on their next sheriff, parish president, and council members.

Election day for the Louisiana primary is Oct. 14. Across Louisiana, voters will cast ballots for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer.

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person is set to take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • Clerk of Court: Bridget Hanna, Republican
  • Assessor: M.J. “Mert” Smiley Jr., Republican
  • Coroner: Christopher Trevino, Republican
  • Council Member District 2: Joel Robert, Republican
  • Council Member District 3: Travis Turner, Democrat
  • Council Member District 6: Chase Melancon, Republican

While the primary will determine some races, and the general election will be Nov. 18. Learn where you can cast early ballots here.

Meet the candidates for Ascension Parish


  • C.J. Matthews, Republican
  • “Bobby” Webre, Republican

Parish President

  • Clint Cointment, Republican
  • Murphy J. Painter Sr., Independent

Council Member District 1

  • Oliver Joseph, Democrat
  • Alvin Thomas Jr., Democrat

Council Member District 4

  • Brett Arceneaux, Republican
  • Nicholas Miller, No Party

Council Member District 5

  • Dempsey Lambert, Republican
  • Michael “Todd” Varnado, Republican

Council Member District 7

  • Brian Belzer, Republican
  • Brian Hillensbeck, Republican

Council Member District 8

  • Ayanna Cushenberry, Independent
  • Blaine Petite, No Party

Council Member District 9

  • Pamela “Pam” Alonso, Republican
  • Jared “Burger” Beiriger, Republican

Council Member District 10

  • Dennis Cullen, Republican
  • Jasper “Jap” Dorsey Sr., Democrat
  • Erik Jones, Republican
  • “Chris” Schwing, Independent

Council Member District 11

  • Cory Fontenot, Democrat
  • Michael Mason, No Party