POINTE COUPEE PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — What’s on the ballot for Pointe Coupee Parish? Some residents can vote on the next council members for districts C and D.

Across Louisiana, voters will cast ballots for the attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer and decide on four proposed constitutional amendments.

The general election will be Nov. 18. Early voting will be 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. from Nov. 5-11, excluding Sunday, Nov. 5 and when Veterans Day is observed Friday, Nov. 10.

Races decided Oct. 14

The following candidates won their respective races on Oct. 14 from complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website:

  • Parish Council Member District A: Jimmie “Tater” Gaspard, Independent

Races decided at qualifying

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person will take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • Sheriff: Rene’ Thibodeaux, No Party
  • Clerk of Court: Becky Ewing Miller, Independent
  • Assessor: James A. “Jimmy” Laurent Jr., Independent
  • Coroner: Donald W. Doucet, Republican
  • Parish President: Major Thibaut, Democrat
  • Parish Council Member, District B: Sidney “Scooter” Lacoste II, Republican
  • Parish Council Member, District E: Edwin “Billy” Soulier, Independent
  • Parish Council Member, District F: Dustin Boudreaux, Republican
  • Parish Council Member, District G: Paul Bergeron, Republican
  • Parish Council Member, District H: Kurt Jarreau, Democrat

Meet the candidates for Pointe Coupee Parish

Parish Council Member District C

  • Edward “Pop” Bazile, Democrat
  • Albert “Dewey” Dukes, Democrat

Parish Council Member District D

  • Justin Deville, Independent
  • Charles “Gumball” Watkins, Democrat