Editor’s Note: A word in the link below was misspelled. We have corrected the article.

POINTE COUPEE, La. (BRPROUD) — What’s on the ballot for Pointe Coupee Parish? Pointe Coupee Parish residents can vote on their next council members.

Election day for the Louisiana primary is Oct. 14. Across Louisiana, voters will cast ballots for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer.

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person is set to take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • Sheriff: Rene’ Thibodeaux, No Party
  • Clerk of Court: Becky Ewing Miller, Independent
  • Assessor: James A. “Jimmy” Laurent Jr., Independent
  • Coroner: Donald W. Doucet, Republican
  • Parish President: Major Thibaut, Democrat
  • Parish Council Member, District B: Sidney “Scooter” Lacoste II, Republican
  • Parish Council Member, District E: Edwin “Billy” Soulier, Independent
  • Parish Council Member, District F: Dustin Boudreaux, Republican
  • Parish Council Member, District G: Paul Bergeron, Republican
  • Parish Council Member, District H: Kurt Jarreau, Democrat

While the primary will determine some races, and the general election will be Nov. 18. Learn where you can cast early ballots here.

Meet the candidates for Pointe Coupee Parish

Parish Council Member, District A

  • William E. Derozan Jr., No Party
  • Jimmie “Tater” Gaspard, Independent
  • Adrianne Williams, Democrat

Parish Council Member, District C

  • Edward “Pop” Bazile, Democrat
  • Albert “Dewey” Dukes, Democrat
  • Sylvia Knight Williams, No Party

Parish Council Member, District D

  • Lloyd “Butte” Bridgewater Jr., Democrat
  • Justin Deville, Independent
  • Anthony “Bo-Dollar” Gauthier, Democrat
  • Clifford “Ted” Nelson, Democrat
  • Charles “Gumball” Watkins, Democrat