POINTE COUPEE PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — Incumbent Jimmie “Tater” Gaspard, Independent, keeps his District A seat on the Pointe Coupee Parish Parish Council. He had 55% of the vote in complete but unofficial results, according to the Louisiana Secretary of State Office website.

Across Louisiana, voters cast ballots for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer in the Saturday, Oct. 14 primary.

The District C council race goes to a runoff between two Democrats: incumbent Edward “Pop” Bazile had 47% of the vote and Albert “Dewey” Dukes had 40%.

The District D council race is also a runoff. Justin Deville, Independent, drew 30% of the vote, and incumbent Charles “Gumball” Watkins, Democrat, had 29%.

The general election will be Nov. 18. Early voting is set for 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Nov. 3-11 (excluding Sunday, Nov. 5 and Friday, Nov. 10 in honor of Veteran’s Day). Learn where you can cast early ballots here.

Seats already filled after qualifying include:

  • Sheriff: Rene’ Thibodeaux, No Party. (Incumbent)
  • Clerk of Court: Becky Ewing Miller, Independent.
  • Assessor: James A. “Jimmy” Laurent Jr., Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Coroner: Donald W. Doucet, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Parish President: Major Thibaut, Democrat. (Incumbent)
  • Parish Council Member District B: Sidney “Scooter” Lacoste II, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Parish Council Member District E: Edwin “Billy” Soulier, Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Parish Council Member District F: Dustin Boudreaux, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Parish Council Member District G: Paul Bergeron, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Parish Council Member District H: Kurt Jarreau, Democrat. (Incumbent)

Oct. 14 election results for Pointe Coupee Parish

The following are complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website as of 9:50 p.m. Oct. 14.

Winners are in bold.

Candidates going to a runoff are in italics.

Parish Council Member District A

  • William E. Derozan Jr., No Party: 35, 4%
  • Jimmie “Tater” Gaspard, Independent: 543, 55%
  • Adrianne Williams, Democrat: 416, 42%

Parish Council Member District C

  • Edward “Pop” Bazile, Democrat: 302, 47%
  • Albert “Dewey” Dukes, Democrat: 257, 40%
  • Sylvia Knight Williams, No Party: 79, 12%

Parish Council Member District D

  • Lloyd “Butte” Bridgewater Jr., Democrat: 93, 10%
  • Justin Deville, Independent: 282, 30%
  • Anthony “Bo-Dollar” Gauthier, Democrat: 55, 6%
  • Clifford “Ted” Nelson, Democrat: 236, 25%
  • Charles “Gumball” Watkins, Democrat: 266, 29%