Drivers and passengers on Louisiana roads who don’t buckle their seat belts are not only taking a foolish safety risk, they’re also facing a $50 fine if they’re caught by law enforcement officers, who will be working throughout the state and writing tickets through the long and heavily traveled Memorial Day weekend.
Click It or Ticket is a seat belt enforcement campaign taking place through June 3. The Louisiana Highway Safety Commission is making extra funds available to law enforcement agencies to crack down on seat belt violators
. All drivers and passengers in Louisiana, regardless of which seat they occupy, must wear their seat belts or face a $50 fine. “Click it – Every Seat, Every Time” is a simple message that LHSC constantly promotes.
“The last observational survey shows that 86.9 percent of people in Louisiana are wearing their seat belts, and that’s way too low,” said Lisa Freeman, executive director of the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission. “Wearing your seat belt is the law in Louisiana, and for good reason. The odds of serious injury or death in a motor vehicle crash decrease dramatically simply by wearing your seat belt.”
According to a 2018 observational report commissioned by LHSC, overall seat belt usage in Louisiana “generally shows an upward trend, increasing 12.4 percentage points since 2009 when only three-in-four were observed wearing a seat belt (74.5%).” However, Freeman said she is not satisfied that the state’s usage rate remains under 90 percent.
Not wearing a seat belt is a dangerous habit that gets passed on – especially to impressionable youth, Freeman said.