Editor’s note: The following names have been corrected: Alexander C. Brown, William Wei, Noah M. Robert. We apologize for the errors.

BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) — More than 16,000 semifinalists were announced on Wednesday, Sept. 13 for the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.

To be considered as a semifinalist, a student must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s performance on the qualifying test, according to a release from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, more than 1.3 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Talented high school seniors across the country will have the chance to compete for over 7,000 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28M that will be offered next spring, according to a release from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Over 15,000 are going to advance to the Finalist level. According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, the National Merit Scholarship winners for 2024 will be announced from April through July.

Check out the semifinalists in and around the Baton Rouge area:

Baton Rouge Magnet High School:

  • Alvin Y. Cheng
  • Veda P. Devireddy
  • Jason Fan
  • Aidan M. Foy
  • George R. Guice
  • Siya Kumar
  • Kate E. Lee
  • Bradon Lin
  • Jennifer L. Lin
  • Janna L. McNulty
  • Shashank Nanjundiah
  • Rick Nie
  • Andy Ou
  • Holly Phan
  • Sophia Ren
  • Anthony A. Reynolds
  • Brandon L. Roberts
  • Fuller G. Stevens
  • Sarah R. Thomas
  • Alina N. Tran
  • Andrew I. Wang
  • Andrew Z. Wang
  • Helen Y. Wang
  • Addison L. Watson
  • William Wei
  • James B. Xu
  • Louisa Y. Zhu

Catholic High School

  • Cole F. Alberty
  • Jackson D. Bardwell
  • Alexander C. Brown
  • Thomas A. Cagle
  • Thomas A. Crawford
  • Ethan M. Crochet
  • Luke T. Dawson
  • Evan D. Dayries
  • William D. de Souza
  • Oliver R. Hamilton
  • Christopher J. Kennedy
  • Caleb M. Lott
  • Isaac E. Miller
  • Seth A. Schmeeckle
  • John G. Sellers
  • Hunter J. Ullrich
  • Jackson N. Whitlow

Central High School

  • Austin M. Elliott

The Dunham School

  • Samay S. Mirpuri
  • Adrian J. Raymond

East Ascension High School

  • Cole G. Hewitt
  • David M. Murphy

Episcopal High School

  • Louis Freeman
  • Glynes Hill
  • Kathy Hu
  • Ahebwa Muhumuza
  • Joseph Roth
  • Hayden Singh
  • Hayen F. Willett

Family Chrisitan Academy

  • Benjamin K. Bertoni

Liberty High School

  • Michael C. Knutsen

Louisiana State University Laboratory School

  • Samuel X. Adjei
  • Tucker S. LaTour
  • Lucy M. Nguyen
  • Noah M. Robert

Parkview Baptist High School

  • Ryan D. Wilks

St. Joseph’s Academy

  • Anna Guidroz

St. Michael The Archangel Diocesan Regional High School

  • Blaise A. Fox
  • Andrew Rhodes

University View Academy

  • Minh B. Tran

Walker High School

  • Caszandra Joy T. Dantea

Zachary High School

  • Amanda T. Le