IBERVILLE PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — Incumbent Lionel Johnson Jr. will serve another term as mayor of St. Gabriel, and current Chief of Police Kevin “Butchie” Ambeau was also elected to another term.

The election results, as of 9:39 p.m. Saturday, April 29, are complete but unofficial.

In the mayor’s race, Johnson had 51% of the vote, and challenger Kyle Grace had 49%. Both are Democrats.

Ambeau drew 61% of votes in his race, and Anthony Davis got 39%. Both are Democrats.

Two council members were to be elected in the council runoff of four candidates (all Democrats). William “June” Cushenberry Jr. drew the most votes with 29%, followed by Jeffery Hayes (incumbent) with 25%.

Hoza C. Redditt Sr., Kelvin “Yorkey Boy” York Sr. (incumbent) and Melvin L. Hasten Sr. won their council seats in the March 25 primary.

Winners are in bold. In a race with only one winner, the top candidate must have 50% of the vote, plus one to take the seat.

Mayor, City of St. Gabriel

  • Lionel Johnson Jr. (Democrat): 727, 51%
  • Kyle Grace (Democrat): 695, 49%

Chief of Police, City of St. Gabriel

  • Kevin “Butchie” Ambeau (Democrat): 859, 61%
  • Anthony Davis (Democrat): 545, 39%

Council Members, City of St. Gabriel

Two to be elected.

  • William “June” Cushenberry Jr. (Democrat): 714, 29%
  • Jeffery Hayes (Democrat): 634, 25%
  • Grace Marcell (Democrat): 551, 22%
  • Okedria “Kay” Smith (Democrat): 601, 24%