ST. HELENA PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — In the Nov. 18 election, St. Helena Parish residents chose their clerk of court and two police jury seats. They declined two school tax propositions and passed a parish-wide road tax and another for a sub-road district while supporting several community fire protection districts.

In complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State website as of 9:20 p.m. Nov. 18, Jeremy M. Williams, a Democrat, is the new clerk of court. He won the seat with 51% of the vote.

Quanika Muse, a Democrat, won the police jury District 2 seat with 76% of the vote.

Willie J. Morgan, Democrat, won the police jury District 3 seat with 55% of the vote.

Across Louisiana, voters cast ballots in statewide races. They elected Liz Murrill as attorney general, Nancy Landry as secretary of state and John Fleming as treasurer. Voters also decided on four proposed constitutional amendments.

Which tax propositions passed or failed?

Two taxes to support the school board failed. A one-cent sales tax came close to passing with 1,712 voting yes and 1,723 voting no. The proposed property tax had less support: 1,664 votes for yes, and 1,774 no votes.

A parish-wide 5-mill property was approved through 2034 for “improving, maintaining, repairing or resurfacing public roads.” It had 57% support.

A 10-mill property tax will support Sub-Road District No. 2 through 2034 for “building, rebuilding, resurfacing, maintaining and keeping in repair the public roads, highways and bridges.” It passed with 65% support.

All local fire protection district taxes passed:

  • Fifth Ward Fire Protection District No. 1 Proposition (Millage Continuation): 69% support
  • Fire Protection District Number Three Proposition (Tax Continuation): 62% support
  • South Second Ward Fire Protection District Proposition (Millage Continuation): 73% support

Races decided with Oct. 14 primary

The following candidates won their respective races on Oct. 14.

  • Sheriff: “Clay” Chutz, Democrat
  • Assessor: Wesley Blades, Democrat
  • Police Juror District 1: Jule Charles Wascom, Democrat
  • Police Juror District 4: Warren Mccray, Democrat
  • Police Juror District 5: Ryan Byrd, Democrat

Races decided at qualifying

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person would take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • Coroner: Jimmie Varnado, Republican
  • Police Juror, District 6: “Doug” Watson, Republican