WEST BATON ROUGE PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — West Baton Rouge Parish residents elected Jeff Bergeron as their new sheriff on Nov. 18 in complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State website.

The sheriff’s race was a runoff between Bergeron, No Party, and Leo Fontenot, a Democrat. Bergeron drew 68% of the vote.

Across Louisiana, voters cast ballots in statewide races. They elected Liz Murrill as attorney general, Nancy Landry as secretary of state and John Fleming as treasurer. Voters also decided on four proposed constitutional amendments.

Races decided in the Oct. 14 primary

  • Parish President: Jason Manola, No Party
  • Council Member, District 2: Daryl “Turf” Babin, Independent
  • City Marshal City Court, City of Port Allen: Sonny J. Massey, Republican

Races decided at qualifying

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person would take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • Clerk of Court: Amanda Gross-Thies, No Party.
  • Assessor: Christopher Paul Guerin, Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Coroner: Philip Padgett, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 1: Kirk A. Allain, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 3: Atley Walker Jr., Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 4: Brady D. Hotard, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 5: Kenneth R. Gordon, Democrat. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 6: Carey T. Denstel, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 7: Alan Crowe, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 8: Katherine M. Andre, Republican.
  • Council Member District 9: Gary “Shaq” Joseph, Independent. (Incumbent)