BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) — The West Baton Rouge Parish sheriff’s race is in a runoff between Jeff Bergeron, No Party, and Leo Fontenot, Democrat.

Across Louisiana, voters will cast ballots for the attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer and decide on four proposed constitutional amendments.

The general election will be Nov. 18. Early voting will be 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. from Nov. 5-11, excluding Sunday, Nov. 5 and when Veterans Day is observed Friday, Nov. 10.

Races decided Oct. 14

  • Parish President: Jason Manola, No Party
  • Council Member, District 2: Daryl “Turf” Babin, Independent
  • City Marshal City Court, City of Port Allen: Sonny J. Massey, Republican

Races decided at qualifying

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person will take office at the start of the next term.

  • Clerk of Court: Amanda Gross-Thies, No Party.
  • Assessor: Christopher Paul Guerin, Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Coroner: Philip Padgett, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 1: Kirk A. Allain, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 3: Atley Walker Jr., Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 4: Brady D. Hotard, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 5: Kenneth R. Gordon, Democrat. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 6: Carey T. Denstel, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 7: Alan Crowe, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 8: Katherine M. Andre, Republican.
  • Council Member District 9: Gary “Shaq” Joseph, Independent. (Incumbent)

Meet the candidates for West Baton Rouge Parish


  • Jeff” Bergeron, No Party
  • Leo Fontenot, Democrat