WEST BATON ROUGE PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — West Baton Rouge voters chose Jason Manola as the new parish president on Saturday, Oct. 14. In complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State Office website, he had 61% of the vote.

The sheriff’s race will go to a runoff between Jeff Bergeron, No Party, and Leo Fontenot, Democrat. Bergeron had 44% of the vote, and Fontenot drew 30%.

Across Louisiana, voters cast ballots for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer in the Saturday, Oct. 14 primary. West Baton Rouge residents also voted on its next parish president, council members and city marshal.

West Baton Rouge voters also chose a new District 2 parish council member. Daryl “Turf” Babin, Independent, had 58% of the vote in complete but unofficial results.

Sonny J. Massey, Republican, will be the city marshal for the Port Allen City Court. He had 60% of the votes cast.

The general election will be on Nov. 18. Early voting is set for 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Nov. 3-11 (excluding Sunday, Nov. 5, and Friday, Nov. 10 in honor of Veteran’s Day). Learn where you can cast early ballots here.

Seats already filled after qualifying include: 

  • Clerk of Court: Amanda Gross-Thies, No Party.
  • Assessor: Christopher Paul Guerin, Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Coroner: Philip Padgett, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 1: Kirk A. Allain, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 3: Atley Walker Jr., Independent. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 4: Brady D. Hotard, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 5: Kenneth R. Gordon, Democrat. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 6: Carey T. Denstel, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 7: Alan Crowe, Republican. (Incumbent)
  • Council Member District 8: Katherine M. Andre, Republican.
  • Council Member District 9: Gary “Shaq” Joseph, Independent. (Incumbent)

Oct. 14 election results for West Baton Rouge Parish

The following are complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website as of 10:28 p.m. Oct. 14.


  • “Jeff” Bergeron, No Party: 4,361, 44%
  • Leo Fontenot, Democrat: 2,933, 30%
  • “Zack” Simmers, Republican: 2,604, 26%

Parish President

  • Grover Harrison III, No Party: 3,769, 39%
  • Jason Manola, No Party: 5,932, 61%

Council Member, District 2

  • Daryl “Turf” Babin, Independent: 603, 58%
  • Paula Prejean Soniat, No Party: 428, 42%

City Marshal City Court, City of Port Allen

  • Dwayne E. Lee Sr., Democrat: 1,379, 40%
  • Sonny J. Massey, Republican: 2,107, 60%