Louisiana Secretary of State provides information on the upcoming August 15 election


(Photo by Joe Raedle/Getty Images)

BATON ROUGE, La. (BrProud)— Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin provided voter information and tips for the upcoming August 15 election.

Who is voting on August 15?

38 parishes have parish-wide and/or limited jurisdiction elections:

  • Acadia
  • Allen
  • Ascension,
  • Avoyelles
  • Beauregard
  • Bossier
  • Calcasieu
  • Catahoula
  • Claiborne
  • Franklin
  • Grant
  • Iberia
  • Iberville
  • Jefferson
  • Davis
  • Lafourche
  • LaSalle
  • Lincoln
  • Livingston
  • Madison
  • Morehouse
  • Plaquemines
  • Pointe Coupee
  • Rapides
  • Red River
  • St. Bernard
  • St. Charles
  • St. Helena
  • St. James
  • St. Landry
  • St. Martin
  • St. Mary
  • Tangipahoa
  • Terrebonne
  • Union
  • Vermilion
  • Washington
  • Webster
  • West Baton Rouge.

Six parishes have a run-off and parish-wide/local proposition elections:

  • Concordia
  • East Baton Rouge
  • Jefferson
  • Natchitoches
  • Ouachita
  • St. Tammany.

Three parishes have run-off elections only:

  • East Feliciana
  • Evangeline
  • Orleans.

Information for Voters

Sec. Ardoin encourages voters to remember:

  • Polls open at 7 a.m. till 8 p.m. Anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.
  • Voters can find their polling location and sample ballot by downloading the GeauxVote Mobile app for smartphones or by visiting www.GeauxVote.com.
  • Voters can sign up for text alerts via GeauxVote Mobile.
  • Voters should bring an ID with them to vote (Louisiana driver’s license, Louisiana Special ID card, a generally recognized picture identification card with name and signature such as a passport or a digital license via LA Wallet). Voters without an ID will be required to fill out an affidavit but will be allowed to vote.
  • Election results can be viewed in real-time via GeauxVote Mobile or at www.sos.la.gov


Some polling places located at nursing homes, senior centers, or other senior-related locations have been moved due to COVID-19. Polling relocation information has been mailed to affected voters.

Parishes with polling location changes include:

  • Allen
  • Avoyelles
  • Beauregard
  • Catahoula
  • Jefferson
  • Madison
  • Natchitoches
  • Orleans
  • Ouachita
  • St. James
  • St. Mary
  • St. Tammany
  • Washington. 

A complete list of polling location changes is available on the Secretary of State website.

Although face coverings are encouraged, voters will no be required to wear them inside polling places. To decrease the spread of COVID-19, polling commissioners will be supplied with personal protective equipment, regularly sanitize designated areas and wipe down voting machines. Hand sanitizer will be provided to voters.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories