BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) – LSU President William F. Tate IV is joining a prestigious group that includes Benjamin Franklin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Robert Frost, Martin Luther King Jr., Condoleezza Rice and Albert Einstein.

Tate was elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

President Tate is one of 261 new members of the academy.

“It is an honor to be selected alongside some of history’s greatest scientists, artists and leaders who have advocated for public good during their lifetimes,” Tate said. “The research tenants of the Academy of Arts & Sciences are what I’ve been striving for in my career as well, and since I arrived at LSU, they match the goals that we’ve outlined in our Scholarship First Agenda for Louisiana.”

President Tate is the 7th member of LSU to receive this honor.

A list of the others elected to the academy from LSU can be found below:

  • Meredith Blackwell (2021)
  • Gabriela González (2017)
  • Isiah Warner (2016)
  • Earl Ward Plummer (2014)
  • James Olney (2001)
  • Mary Jane West-Eberhard (1996)

Research from President Tate “focused on the social determinants of mathematics performance, STEM attainment, and the development of epidemiological and geospatial models to explain the social determinants of educational attainment as well as health and developmental outcomes,” according to LSU.

A list of the newest members of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences can be found here.

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences has been around since 1780.