LIVINGSTON PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) — Voters in Livingston Parish will return to the polls to decide on a tax renewal that supports the parish library and decide two parish council races.

Across Louisiana, voters will cast ballots for the attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer and decide on four proposed constitutional amendments.

The general election will be Nov. 18. Early voting will be 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. from Nov. 5-11, excluding Sunday, Nov. 5 and when Veterans Day is observed Friday, Nov. 10.

Races decided on Oct. 14

The following candidates won their respective races on Oct. 14 from complete but unofficial results from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website:

  • Sheriff: Jason Ard, Republican
  • Parish President: “Randy” Delatte, Republican
  • Council Member District 1: Lonnie Watts, Republican
  • Council Member District 2: Ryan Chavers, Republican
  • Council Member District 4: John Wascom, Republican
  • Council Member District 5: Erin Sandefur, Republican
  • Council Member District 7: Ricky Goff, Republican
  • Council Member District 8: Dean Coates, Republican
  • Council Member District 9: Joseph “Joe” Erdey, Republican
  • Alderman Town of Killian: Lyndon Hendley, Republican

On Oct. 16, a member of Brett McMasters’ campaign requested a recount of the Sheriff’s race. According to the Louisiana Secretary of State Office’s website, Ard had 17,656 votes, 115 more than McMasters. On Oct. 19, the recount was conducted, and Ard was re-elected.

Races decided at qualifying

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person would take office at the start of the next term.

  • Clerk of Court: Jason B. Harris, Republican
  • Assessor: Jeffrey “Jeff” Taylor, Republican
  • Coroner: “Ron” Coe, Republican
  • Justice of the Peace Ward 6: Lisa Hoover Cothern, Republican
  • Justice of the Peace Ward 10: Jessica Albarado, Republican
  • Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 11: Timothy Ricks, Republican

Meet the Livingston Parish candidates

Council Member District 3

  • Maurice “Scooter” Keen, Republican
  • Billy Taylor, Republican

Council Member District 6

  • John Mangus, Republican
  • Travis Tharp, Republican


Parishwide Proposition (Tax Renewal)

Can the Parish of Livingston collect a 10-mill property tax from 2025 to 2034> About $6,841,406.58 is expected to be collected annually. Funds will be used for “acquiring, constructing, improving, maintaining and operating the Livingston Parish Library.”