BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) — Voters in and around the capital region chose who will represent them in the Louisiana Senate and House of Representatives during the Saturday, Nov. 18 election.

WVLA and WGMB primarily cover Ascension, Assumption, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Point Coupee, St. Helena, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes. The multi-parish races, including judicial and legislative seats, affect the viewing area.

The following information is based on complete but unofficial results on the Louisiana Secretary of State website as of 11:16 p.m. Nov. 18:

  • Robert Allain, a Republican, won the 21st District Senate seat with 59% of the vote.
  • Jeremy S. LaCombe, a Republican, won the 18th District Representative seat with 55% of the vote.
  • Barbara West Carpenter, a Democrat, won the 63rd District Representative seat with 64% of the vote.
  • Kellee Hennessy Dickerson, a Republican, won the 64th District Representative seat with 60% of the vote.
  • Lauren Ventrella, a Republican, won the 65th District Representative seat with 57% of the vote.
  • Emily Chenevert, a Republican, won the 66th District Representative seat with 60% of the vote.
  • Dixon McMakin, a Republican, won the 68th District Representative seat with 57% of the vote.
  • Barbara Reich Freiberg, a Republican, won the 70th District Representative seat with 65% of the vote.

Voters in Ascension and Assumption parishes determined the 23rd Judicial District Court bench race. Keyojuan Gant Turner, a Democrat, won with 59% of voters’ support.

Across Louisiana, voters cast ballots in statewide races. They elected Liz Murrill as attorney general, Nancy Landry as secretary of state and John Fleming as treasurer. Voters also decided on four proposed constitutional amendments.

Which races were determined in the primary, at qualifying?

Many races were declared with the Saturday, Oct. 14 primary in complete but unofficial results.

  • State Senator, 2nd District: Edward “Ed” Price, Democrat (Ascension, Assumption, Iberville, West Baton Rouge parishes)
  • State Senator, 6th District: “Rick” Edmonds, Republican (East Baton Rouge, Livingston, St. Helena parishes)
  • State Senator, 13th District: Valarie Hodges, Republican (Livingston Parish)
  • State Senator, 37th District: “Bill” Wheat, Republican, (Livingston Parish)
  • State Representative, 62nd District: Roy Daryl Adams, Democrat (East Baton Rouge and East Feliciana parishes)
  • State Representative, 71st District: Roger Wilder III, Republican (Livingston Parish)
  • State Representative, 72nd District: “Robby” Carter, Democrat (St. Helena Parish)
  • State Representative, 81st District: Jeffrey F. “Jeff” Wiley, Republican (Ascension, Livingston parishes)
  • State Representative, 88th District: Kathy Edmonston, Republican (Ascension Parish)
  • State Representative, 95th District: Shane Mack, Republican (Livingston Parish)

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person is set to take office at the start of the next term.

Caleb Seth Kleinpeter, Republican, won the District 17 Senate seat unopposed. Peter Williams, Democrat, had initially been qualified to run, but the Secretary of State website now has him listed as Other/Disqualified.

C. Denise Marcelle, Democrat, won the 61st District House seat unopposed. Robb “Kirt” Sharper, Democrat, had initially been qualified to run but later withdrew.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • State Senator, 14th District: Cleo Fields, Democrat (East Baton Rouge)
  • State Senator, 15th District: Regina Barrow, Democrat (East Baton Rouge)
  • State Senator, 16th District: Franklin Foil, Republican (East Baton Rouge)
  • State Senator, 18th District: Eddie J. Lambert, Republican (Ascension, Livingston)
  • State Senator, 32nd District: Glen D. Womack, Republican (West Feliciana)
  • State Representative, 29th District: Edmond Jordan, Democrat (East Baton Rouge, West Baton Rouge)
  • State Representative, 51st District: Beryl Amedee, Republican (Assumption)
  • State Representative, 58th District: Kendricks “Ken” Brass, Democrat (Ascension)
  • State Representative, 59th District” “Tony” Bacala, Republican (Ascension)
  • State Representative 60th District: Chad Brown, Democrat (Assumption, Iberville)
  • State Representative, 67th District: Larry Selders, Democrat (East Baton Rouge Parish)
  • State Representative, 69th District: Paula Davis, Republican (East Baton Rouge Parish)
  • State Representative, 101st District: Vanessa Caston LaFleur, Democrat (East Baton Rouge)