WEST BATON ROUGE PARISH, La. (BRPROUD) – What’s on the ballot for West Baton Rouge Parish? West Baton Rouge residents can vote on their next sheriff, parish president, council member for District 2 and the City Marshal for the Port Allen city court.

Election day for the Louisiana primary is Oct. 14. Across Louisiana, voters will cast ballots for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer.

Qualifying for state and local races was Aug. 8-10. If a race had only one candidate at the end of qualifying, that person is set to take office at the start of the next term.

The following seats were filled in unopposed races:

  • Clerk of Court: Amanda Gross-Thies, No party.
  • Assessor: Christopher Paul Guerin, Independent.
  • Coroner: Philip Padgett, Republican.
  • Council Member District 1: Kirk A. Allain, Republican.
  • Council Member District 3: Atley Walker Jr., Independent.
  • Council Member District 4: Brady D. Hotard, Republican.
  • Council Member District 5: Kenneth R. Gordon, Democrat.
  • Council Member District 6: Carey T. Denstel, Republican.
  • Council Member District 7: Alan Crowe, Republican.
  • Council Member District 8: Katherine M. Andre, Republican.
  • Council Member District 9: Gary “Shaq” Joseph, Independent.

While the primary will determine some races, and the general election will be Nov. 18. Learn where you can cast early ballots here.

Meet the candidates for West Baton Rouge Parish


  • “Jeff Bergeron, No Party
  • Leo Fontenot, Democrat
  • “Zack” Simmers, Republican

Parish President

  • Grover Harrison III, No Party
  • Jason Manola, No Party

Council Member, District 2

  • Daryl “Turf” Babin, Independent
  • Paula Prejean Soniat, No Party

City Marshal City Court, City of Port Allen

  • Dwayne E. Lee Sr., Democrat
  • Sonny J. Massey, Republican