SEC approves move to conference-only football schedule for 2020.


On Thursday, the presidents of SEC schools have approved a move to a conference-only schedule for 2020.

The new schedule is set to be 10 games, and is scheduled to start on Sept. 26, three weeks after the majority of the college football season was originally scheduled to start.

The move means the marque match-up between LSU and Texas scheduled for Sept. 12 in Tiger Stadium will not be played.

Several other big out of conference match-ups were also affected, including: Tennessee vs. Oklahoma, Baylor vs. Ole Miss, Arkansas vs. Notre Dame, Mississippi State vs. NC State, and Vanderbilt vs. Kansas State.

The move from the SEC follows several other major conferences making similar decisions to forego out-of-conference games including the Big Ten, ACC and PAC-12.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

SEC Schedule

SEC Twitter