Two Baton Rouge Magnet High School seniors named U.S. Presidential Scholars


Photo courtesy of Baton Rouge Magnet High School.

BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) – Baton Rouge Magnet High School (BRMHS) announced Thursday that Class of 2020 Seniors Cindy Zheng and Sunggun Lee have been named U.S. Presidential Scholars.

The U.S. Department of Education and the Presidential Scholar Commission decide who are the U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Photo of Cindy Zheng. Zheng will attend Brown University in the Fall. Photo provided by BRMHS.

Senior Cindy Zheng will graduate with a 4.90 GPA and received a perfect 36 score on the ACT.

During her time at BRMHS, Zheng served as president of the Beta Club.

Zheng is going to Brown University in the Fall.

“She nominated Mrs. Lai Cao as her Distinguished Teacher,” according to BRMHS.

Zheng went to Glasgow Middle School before moving to Baton Rouge Magnet High School.

Senior Sunggun Lee is the Co-Valedictorian at BRMHS graduating with a 4.95 GPA. 

Lee also received a perfect score on the ACT.

During his time at BRMHS, Lee served as President of Mu Alpha Theta.

Lee is headed to Duke University in the Fall.

According to BRMHS, Ms. Cara O’Dell was nominated by Lee as his Distinguished Teacher.

Lee went to both Glasgow Middle School and BRCVPA before arriving at Baton Rouge Magnet High School.

Baton Rouge Magnet High School stated that “the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students,” BRMHS said in a recent release. ‘Two students from Louisiana are named Presidential Scholars each year. Baton Rouge Magnet High School is one of only three high schools in the United States with two Presidential Scholars this year.'”

Only two students from the state are awarded the designation of Presidential Scholar each year.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories