BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) – As Fall sneaks up on us, the list of 2021 National Blue Ribbon Schools was released by the United States Department of Education.

There were a total of 325 schools throughout the United States that received this distinction.

Among those schools that were recognized, eight came from Louisiana.

Those eight schools are listed below:

  • Baton Rouge – Baton Rouge Magnet High School, East Baton Rouge Parish School System.
  • Baton Rouge – Westdale Heights Academic Magnet, East Baton Rouge School System.
  • Covington – Saint Paul’s School, Archdiocese of New Orleans.
  • Covington – St. Scholastica Academy, Archdiocese of New Orleans.
  • Gretna – Gretna No. 2 Academy for Advanced Studies, Jefferson School District.
  • Metairie – Airline Park Academy for Advanced Studies, Jefferson School District.
  • New Orleans – Benjamin Franklin Magnet High School, Advocates for Academic Excellence in Education.
  • New Orleans – Lake Forest Elementary Charter School, NOLA Public School District.

“This year’s cohort of honorees demonstrates what is possible when committed educators and school leaders create vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school cultures where rich teaching and learning can flourish,” said Secretary Cardona. “I commend all our Blue Ribbon honorees for working to keep students healthy and safe while meeting their academic, social, emotional, and mental health needs. In the face of unprecedented circumstances, you found creative ways to engage, care for, protect, and teach our children. Blue Ribbon Schools have so much to offer and can serve as a model for other schools and communities so that we can truly build back better.”

When deciding who the National Blue Ribbon Schools are, the United States Department of Education looks at:

  • All student scores
  • Subgroup student scores
  • Graduation rates

This is the 39th year that the United State Department of Education has recognized schools for their excellence.