HEISMAN WINNER: Burrow claims 2019 Heisman Trophy after record-breaking season

Geaux Nation

For only the second time in school history, an LSU Tiger has claimed the Heisman Trophy.

LSU Senior QB Joe Burrow claimed the 2019 award Saturday night in New York City beating out Ohio State QB Justin Fields, Oklahoma QB Jalen Hurts, and Ohio State DE Chase Young.

The win set several Heisman Trophy records including: Highest percentage of 1st Place Votes Won (90.7%), Most Points as a Percentage of Possible Points (93.8%), Most Ballots Named as Percent of Total Ballots (95.5%), and the Largest Margin of Victory winning the award by 1,846 points.

Burrow’s win comes 60 years after LSU’s only other Heisman winner, Billy Cannon, took home the trophy a year after he led LSU to its first national championship.

Burrow currently holds LSU’s single-season records for yards (4,715) and passing touchdowns (48), those numbers are also single-season records in the Southeastern Conference.

He can add to his records when LSU plays the Oklahoma Sooners on December 28 in the Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories