SEC Network to air tribute to 2019 National Champions

Geaux Nation

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA – JANUARY 13: Head coach Ed Orgeron of the LSU Tigers, Joe Burrow #9 of the LSU Tigers and Grant Delpit #7 of the LSU Tigers celebrate with the trophy after defeating the Clemson Tigers 42-25 in the College Football Playoff National Championship game at Mercedes Benz Superdome on January 13, 2020 in New Orleans, Louisiana. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

BATON ROUGE – “One for the Ages”, a one-hour behind-the-scenes cinematic look into LSU’s remarkable national championship football season, will air at 6:30 p.m. CT on Wednesday on the SEC Network and on ESPN’s digital platform, the network announced.

Produced by Jim Jorden Productions, “One for the Ages” will take fans inside LSU’s dominant 15-0 season with never seen before footage and interviews with national coach of the year Ed Orgeron and Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Joe Burrow.

The 60-minute recap of LSU’s season features game-by-game highlights, post-game interviews, and will bring fans onto the sidelines and into the locker room for rarely seen video of the Tigers. 

LSU, behind its record-setting offense, steamrolled through the regular-season, going 8-0 in Southeastern Conference play and winning six of its eight league games by double-figures. The Tigers captured the SEC Championship with another double-digit victory, a 37-10 win over fourth-ranked Georgia in Atlanta.

The Tigers set numerous College Football Playoff records in their 63-28 win over fourth-ranked Oklahoma and then captured the school’s fourth national championship and completed the most dominant season in college football history with a 42-25 win over second-ranked Clemson in New Orleans.

In all, LSU beat seven teams ranked in the Top 10 in 2019, the most in one season in the history of college football, while setting SEC records for total points (726), points per game (48.4), total yards (8,526), passing yards (6,024) and passing touchdowns (61).

LSU’s “One for the Ages” season featured Burrow, the Heisman Trophy winning quarterback and the No. 1 overall draft pick in the 2020 NFL Draft, along with record-setting receivers in All-America and Biletnikoff Award winner Ja’Marr Chase and NFL first round draft pick Justin Jefferson along with first round NFL Draft pick Clyde Edwards-Helaire.

(Press release provided by LSU Athletics.)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest BRProud Articles

More Local News

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the BRProud App from the App Store or Google Play.

Trending Stories